South Africa’s tour of Bangladesh 2015 – South Africa squad announced

AB de Villiers has decided to skip part of South Africa’s tour of Bangladesh this July.

The South African ODI captain will feature in the shorter format of the game when South Africa tour Bangladesh but will return back to his country to be with his pregnant wife.

South Africa will also allow Dale Steyn to rest from the ODIs and T20Is on the tour. Also given a break from the shorter format of the game will be Vernon Philander. Morne Morkel and Imran Tahir, both of whom had played in the recently-concluded World Cup, will not feature in the T20Is.

The South African Test side will be led by Hashim Amla, while Reeza Hendricks has been included as well as an opening option. The other opening options that South Africa have are Dean Elgar and Stiaan van Zyl and the management will need to decide on two of these three.

Kagiso Rabada has also been called up for the Tests but he will probably remain an under-study to the likes of Steyn, Morkel and Philander, all of whom should feature in the five-day format. Aaron Phangiso and Simon Harmer are the two spinners in the squad.

The de Villiers-led ODI squad is more or less on the lines of what was on offer during the 2015 World Cup, with Chris Morris and Ryan McLaren getting a place as all-rounders. Rabada also makes it to the line-up.

Eddie Leie is the only uncapped player in any format to have got a chance. He gets himself a place in the South African T20I line-up, That squad will be captained by Faf du Plessis, while Amla will not be a part of it.

South Africa will play two T20Is, three ODIs and two Tests on their tour of Bangladesh before the bandwagon moves to India later in the year for a longer tour.

Read bet365 review here

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.