Guyana Amazon Warriors Squad: Caribbean Premier League 2015

Defeated 2014 finalists, the Guyana Amazon Warriors look to win the third edition having been on the losing end in the last two finals. Find the latest Guyana Amazon Warriors squad for the CPL 2015 below.

You can watch & bet on the CPL 2015 live streaming here


Having had, what looks to be, an exceptional draft, they were able to select experienced players, each game-changers in their own right. This Guyana Amazon Warriors squad certainly looks like the team to beat in this year’s edition.

The latest news from the Guyana squad is that Lasith Malinga has joined Justin Ontong in being ruled out of the competition. They have added Jeevan Mendis and Marchant de Lange as replacements in the Amazaon Warriors squad.

The Warriors were able to retain their 2014 captain, spin bowler, Sunil Narine, with their top pick. They also retained the Lendl Simmons, Denesh Ramdin and Christopher Barnwell. Versammy Permaul, Devendra Bishoo and Trevon Griffith were also drafted and are set to rejoin the Amazon Warriors squad.

Sri Lanka’s fast bowling slinger, Lasith Malinga joins this squad along with two of his Sri Lankan compatriots in all rounder Tillakaratne Dilshan and the hard-hitting Thisara Perera.

Australian Brad Hodge who has amassed over 6000 T20 runs in his career, along with West Indians Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Assad Fudadin and Paul Wintz are the other newcomers in this team. Also making a late entry into the team is Pakistan’s Umar Akmal, who will make the team after July 3. He will finish off his time with Leicestershire in the T20 Blast before getting to the Guyana squad.

– The level of experience within this squad is second to none.

– The balance within this squad is also extraordinary with the presence of excellent bowlers in Narine, Malinga and the in form Permaul while Simmons looks to continue his IPL form and within that batting lineup, the likes of Hodge, Ramdin, Dilshan and Perera will anchor and look to dismantle the strongest of bowling attacks.

All the remaining CPL 2015 Squads can be found here

– The number of new players in this squad, in particular, the fact that all four are overseas players may cause the Warriors to take some time to gel. For the five (5) other teams they will face as they look to force their way into another final, the hope for the team will be that they gel and peak at the right time.

Lasith Malinga who recently bowled the Mumbai Indians to victory with 24 wickets in 15 matches in the IPL with his lethal death bowling, looks the player to watch in a very impressive Warriors team.

Excellent fielder and in form batsman Lendl Simmons is also one to watch. As Man-of-the-Series in the 2014 CPL season, Simmons continued in his excellent form in the recently concluded IPL having been a core member of the victorious Mumbai Indians squad.

With batting average of 45.00 and amassing 540 runs in 13 matches in the 2014 season and with his overall CPL T20 strike rate at 127.59, Simmons will look to once again lead from the front as opener of a steady and potentially deadly Amazon Warriors batting attack.

Guyana Amazon Warriors Squad:

Retained from 2014 Squad
Sunil Narine (captain)
Christopher Barnwell
Ronsford Beaton
Devendra Bishoo
Trevon Griffith
Versammy Permaul
Denesh Ramdine (wk)
Lendl Simmons

New Players
Shivnarine Chanderpaul
Tillakaratne Dilshan (overseas player)/Umar Akmal (overseas player, will replace Dilshan later)
Assad Fudadin
Brad Hodge (overseas player)
Jeevan Mendis (overseas player)
Thisara Perera (overseas player)/David Wiese (overseas player, will replace Perera later)
Paul Wintz
Marchant de Lange (overseas player)

Read bet365 review here

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.