Zimbabwe v India 1st ODI betting tips & predictions

Zimbabwe have a chance to get the better of a second-string India in the first of three ODIs that will be played on Friday in Harare. Zimbabwe v India 1st ODI betting tips are placed at the end of this article.


India won a close thriller against Zimbabwe, restricting Elton Chigumbura to just a single when he needed to hit a six off the last ball to win the game.


It comes as no surprise that the selectors have named a second XI for India when they take on Zimbabwe. With most of the main players having been involved with the game non-stop since the start of their tour of Australia last year, they needed and deserved a break to recharge their batteries.

What this means is that Ajinkya Rahane will lead India for the first time ever and there will be a plethora of new options that he will have to choose from.

This series also gives those players a chance to feature who were a part of the India squad but did not play in too many internationals in recent times. Ambati Rayudu, Stuart Binny and Axar Patel were all in the 2015 World Cup squad but didn’t play a single game.

Also returning back to the Indian line-up are Harbhajan Singh, Manoj Tiwary and Robin Uthappa, while Murali Vijay gets a chance to prove his ODI credentials are as good as his Test match ones.

With Brendan Taylor having announced his retirement from international cricket, Zimbabwe will be led by Elton Chigumbura. The likes of Hamilton Masakadza and Vusi Sibanda will add the batting experience at the top while Prosper Utseya will hope his action doesn’t come to question yet again.

Probable India XI for Zimbabwe 1st ODI:

Rahane, Vijay, Uthappa, Rayudu, Tiwary, Binny, Harbhajan/Pandey, Mohit, Bhuvneshwar, Axar, Dhawal

Zimbabwe v India ODIs head to head:
Of the 57 ODIs played between these two sides, India have won 45, Zimbabwe have won 10 and two have ended in ties.

Zimbabwe v India 1st ODI betting tips:
India to win: 1/4
Vijay to be India’ top batsman: 7/2

Match starts at 12.30 pm India time (0700 hours GMT) on July 10.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.