Chennai Super Kings Squad, Team, Player List IPL 2015

Going into the eighth season of the Indian Premier League (IPL), Chennai Super Kings (CSK) were one of only three teams who had won the title twice. Their squad to make an assault for a third title has shaped up well but they failed to make it their third title in the 2015 edition when when they went down to the Mumbai Indians. The latest Chennai Super Kings squad can be found below.

Get your favourite Chennai Super Kings merchandise & jersey here

Also book cheap hotel rooms for the World T20 & the IPL here:

The Chennai Super Kings has a squad of 25 players for IPL 8. It retained 17 players from the previous edition and bought eight new players in the player auction. The squad comprised of 16 domestic players and nine overseas players.

Some of the players retained by CSK are skipper and wicket-keeper Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Indian team all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja, off-spinner Ravichandra Ashwin, Indian middle order lynch-pin and part-time off-break bowler Suresh Raina and West Indian all-rounder Dwayne Bravo.

South African right-hand batsman Fad du Plessis, veteran West Indies cricketer Dwayne Smith, New Zealand captain and opener Brendon McCullum, Indian fast bowler Ashish Nehra, New Zealand A cricket team captain Matt Henry and highly rated India Under-19 cricketer Baba Aparajith are also some of the important players from previous edition which were retained by CSK.

Some of the new faces in the Chennai Super Kings squad after the player auction included players like former Australian great Michael Hussey, all-rounder Irfan Pathan – who had stormed on to the international cricket scene as a youngster for India – and upcoming young talents like Pratyush Singh and Ankush Bains who are also the youngest members of the squad.

David Hussey, Ben Hilfenhaus, John Hastings – all of whom have represented Australia in different forms of international cricket – along with Indian cricketer Vijay Shankar were the four players who were released by Chennai Super Kings for IPL 8.

A complete list of the Chennai Super Kings squad – divided into overseas and domestic players – is as follows:

India players:
MS Dhoni (captain), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Ashish Nehra, Mohit Sharma, Suresh Raina, Mithun Manhas, Ishwar Pandey, Ronit More, Irfan Pathan, Pawan Negi, Baba Aparajith, Rahul Sharma, Ankush Bains, Pratyush Singh, Eklavya Dwivedi

Overseas players:
Faf Du Plessis, Dwayne Bravo, Brendon McCullum, Dwayne Smith, Matt Henry, Samuel Badree, Kyle Abbott, Michael Hussey, Andrew Tye

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.