Royal Challengers Bangalore Squad, Team, Player List IPL 2016

After a dismal showing in the previous edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL), where Royal Challengers Bangalore finished seventh out of eight teams, they made some major changes to their squad for IPL 8 which helped them finish third behind Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings. Can the Royal Challengers Bangalore squad win the title in IPL 9?

Their best-ever finish remains a runner-up position in the second edition of the IPL.

Also book cheap hotel rooms for the World T20 & the IPL here:

Bangalore had a squad of 25 players for IPL 8. 16 of the players in the squad were retained from retained from the previous edition while nine new players were brought in for an improved performance. The squad had 16 domestic players and nine overseas players.

Indian cricket team’s current test captain Virat Kohli was retained as the franchise captain after having received the position in IPL 7.

South African One Day International cricket team captain Abraham Benjamin “AB” de Villiers, West Indies batting great Chris Gayle, Australian left-arm fast bowling sensation Mitchell Starc, Indian pacer Varun Aaron and Indian fast-bowler Ashok Dinda were some of the international players who were kept by Royal Challengers Bangalore.

According to latest news, Mitchell Starc might miss the IPL 9 because of injury.

Australian cricketer Nic Maddinson, South African batsman Rilee Rossouw also kept their places in the squad. While young Indian talents like Yuzvendra Singh Chahal, Harshal Patel, all-rounder Mandeep Singh and batsman Vijay Zol also got another chance to shine on the IPL stage.

The nine new players bought by Royal Challengers Bangalore at the player auction for IPL 8 included names like Indian wicket-keeper batsman Dinesh Karthik, former West Indies captain and all-rounder Darren Sammy, Australian batsman Sean Abbott, New Zealand’s young pace sensation Adam Milne and former Indian batsman Subramaniam Badrinath.

Sarfaraz Naushad Khan, who was also bought at the player auction, was the youngest player in the squad at just 18 years of age.

Bangalore also released seven players which included players like South African all-rounder Albie Morkel, legendary Sri Lankan off-break bowler Muttiah Muralitharan, West Indies fast bowler Ravi Rampaul and former Indian middle-order lynchpin Yuvraj Singh.

Players traded in:
Kedar Jadhav (from Delhi Daredevils)

Players traded out:

The Royal Challengers Bangalore squad for IPL 9 – divided into domestic and overseas players – shaped up as follows. We will keep updating the Bangalore squad below in the lead-up to the IPL 2016.

Indian players:
Virat Kohli, Varun Aaron, Yuzvendra Singh Chahal, Abu Nechim Ahmed, Harshal Patel, Sarfaraz Naushad Khan, Kedar Jadhav, Stuart Binny, Sachin Baby, Iqbal Abdulla, Praveen Dubey, Aksjay Karnewar, Vikramjeet Malik, Vikas Tokas

Overseas players:
AB de Villiers, Chris Gayle, Mitchell Starc (subject to fitness), David Wiese, Adam Milne, Shane Watson, Travis Head, Samuel Badree

Do you think Bangalore can win the 2016 IPL? Bet on Bangalore here & win back a lot of money if they win the IPL.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.