Rajasthan Royals Squad, Team, Player List IPL 2015

Rajasthan Royals is one of four teams who have won the Indian Premier League (IPL) title, clinching it in its inaugural edition of the IPL in 2008. However the Rajasthan Royals squad has struggled since then, both on the pitch and off it, with third place position being their best finish since in IPL 2013.

The question now is whether the Rajasthan Royals will feature in the ninth edition of the IPL in 2016 given their ban.

Also book cheap hotel rooms for the World T20 & the IPL here:


Having failed to qualify for the play-offs in IPL 7, Rajasthan managed to muster a fourth place finish in IPL 8.

Rajasthan Royals had a squad of 25 players for IPL 8. Out of these, 19 were retained from the previous edition of IPL while the remaining six players were bought at the player auction. The squad consisted of 17 domestic players and eight overseas players.

Current captain of the Australian One-Day International team, Steven Smith, was retained and promoted as the franchise captain for IPL 8. Fellow Australian all-rounder Shane Watson also kept his place in the squad but had to relinquish the captaincy to Steven Smith.

International players like Australian fast bowling sensation James Faulkner, New Zealand pace spearhead Tim Southee, Indian batsman Ajinkya Rahane, Indian all-rounder Stuart Roger Binny, medium pacer Dhawal Kulkarni were some of the players who retained their spot in the Rajasthan squad for IPL 8.

Veteran Indian first-class cricketers Rajat Bhatia and Pravin Tambe – who was the oldest player in the Rajasthan Royals squad – were also retained. While young blood like batsman Karun Nair, all-rounder Rahul Tewatia, wicket-keeper batsman Sanju Samson and Ankit Sharma were given another chance.

Deepak Hooda, the youngest player in the squad at just 19 years of age when IPL 8 commenced, also retained his spot in the squad.

Among the new faces were South African all-rounder Cristopher Morris, South African pacer Juan Theron and Barinder Singh Saran.

The three players released by Rajasthan Royals for IPL 8 included international players like Australian Brad Hodge.

The Rajasthan Royals squad for IPL 9 – divided into domestic and overseas players – is as follows. We will keep updating the Rajasthan squad below in the lead-up to the IPL 2016.

Indian players:
Ajinkya Rahane, Sanju Samson, Stuart Binny, Abhishek Nayar, Rajat Bhatia, Dhawal Kulkarni, Dishant Yagnik, Pravin Tambe, Karun Nair, Deepak Hooda, Vikramjeet Malik, Rahul Tewatia, Ankit Sharma, Dinesh Salunkhe, Pardeep Sahua, Sagar Trivedi, Barinder Singh Saran

Overseas players:
Steven Smith (captain), Shane Watson, James Faulkner, Ben Cutting, Time Southee, Kane Richardson, Christopher Morris, Juan Theron

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.