India Champions Trophy Squad to be named on May 8

India Champions Trophy squad

India will finally name their 2017 Champions Trophy squad on Monday, May 8 after being pushed into the corner by BCCI’s CoA. This was after they had refused to name the squad for the tournament following their tiff over the financial distribution of the ICC revenues. Latest India squad for 2017 Champions Trophy will be updated here later.

Get the latest 2017 Champions Trophy betting tips here.

Teams were expected to announce their 15-man squads in the final week of April but the BCCI missed that deadline following their issues with the ICC. There were serious indicators that the BCCI would pull out of the 2017 Champions Trophy and even the official broadcast, Star Sports had written to the ICC that covering the tournament without the presence of India seemed meaningless.

However, the threat seems to have been assuaged for now. According to the BCCI, they will not only name the India squad for the Champions Trophy on Monday, but they will also feature in the competition, unlike what had been said earlier.

This follows the CoA allegedly telling off the BCCI for their arm-twisting tactics and forcing them to name the squad or bear the ire of the Supreme Court yet again. There were also reports in which former greats like Sachin Tendulkar and Rahul Dravid coerced the BCCI to not allow the Indian cricket fans to suffer and name the Indian squad.

Latest cricket betting tips for other tournaments here.

What now remains to be seen is who will make it to the 15-man India squad. There are a few spots up for grabs including one opener’s slot, a middle-order’s berth and probably one quick fast bowling option. However, given by the way things have gone in the IPL so far, there look like a lot of players fighting for those spots, which brings up the interest in the Indian squad.

India enter the competition as defending champions, having beaten England in the final of the 2013 Champions Trophy to win the last trophy. That competition was also played in the UK.

The 2017 Champions Trophy will be played at The Oval in London, Birmingham in Edgbaston and Sophia Gardens in Wales. India are a part of a group which has Pakistan, South Africa and Sri Lanka. The other group has Australia, New Zealand, England and Bangladesh, who qualified at the expense of West Indies.

Cricket betting tips, predictions & odds for the 2017 Champions Trophy will be updated here.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.