Asia Cup betting tips for 2016

The 14th edition of the Asia Cup cricket tournament will be played this year from February 24. It will be the first ever tournament to be played in a T20I format and you can find all the Asia Cup betting tips for the 2016 edition in this article.

Apart from the fact this is the first ever Asia Cup tournament to be played in the T20 format with all the previous ones having been played as ODIs, this is also the first time when the Asia Cup saw a qualifier played before the competition to decide on the fifth team.

So while India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh were given direct entries into the Asia Cup this year, there was a qualifier that saw Afghanistan, UAE, Oman and Hong Kong fight it out for that one, elusive place in the main draw of the tournament.

UAE defeated all the remaining three teams, Afghanistan, Oman and Hong Kong to qualify for the main draw of the 2016 Asia Cup, which was a bit of a surprise given Afghanistan looked like the favourites going into that qualifier.

Pakistan v UAE betting tips:
Pakistan to win

That being said, India start favourites to clinch the title, after having entered the Asia Cup with successive series wins over Australia (3-0) and Sri Lanka (2-1). What was refreshing to note from their point of view was the confidence they oozed playing in the format.

Retirements of some of their greats might be an issue for Sri Lanka but they will welcome back the likes of Angelo Mathews and Laisth Malinga, both of whom were missing from that India series. Still, things might not be easy for them given their recent woes.

Pakistan will be bubbling with confidence following the launch of their own T20 tournament in the form of the Pakistan Super League. And that’s the kind of confidence they would like to carry into the Asia Cup as well.

Bangladesh’s T20I form hasn’t been as kind to them as the ODIs but being the hosts, they will have the crowds behind them and that should make for an interesting viewing.

Here’re the latest Asia Cup betting odds for the outright winner for the 2016 edition:
India: 8/11
Pakistan: 7/2
Sri Lanka: 11/2
Bangladesh: 16/1
UAE: 100/1