Caribbean Premier League Squads, Teams & Draft 2016

Get all the information on the Caribbean Premier League squads for the 2016 edition of the tournament as teams select players from the CPL Draft. The Caribbean Premier League Draft will be held on February 11.

Updated: Caribbean Premier League 2017 Squads here

The cricket action is set to return to the exotic Caribbean, as the fourth edition of the Caribbean Premier League is expected to kick start later this year. However, the draft will be taking place in a week’s time, and the pool of players is now bigger than ever before.

The last year’s edition was won by Trinidad and Tobago Red Steel, who defeated Barbados Tridents by 20 runs. While they had a sensational tournament last season, this year the things may be a bit different as the teams are set to be reshuffled.

The tournament director Tom Moody has said that this is the most competitive roster in the history of the tournament. And considering the statistics, he is certainly spot-on.

Some of the biggest names in the world of cricket have opted to be a part of the Caribbean Premier League, many of whom are World Cup winners, in addition to being particularly dangerous in the T20 format. Players from 14 countries will be coming together to rock the stage in the Caribbean, playing for their respective franchises.

Get all the Caribbean Premier League 2016 squads here

Apart from the West Indies, who are contributing more than 100 players for the draft, Pakistan and South Africa lead the pack with 37 and 34 players respectively, all of them gunning to make it to the Caribbean Premier League squads for the 2016 edition of the tournament.

Some of the big names in the Proteas include the terrific batsmen Hashim Amla, along with Imran Tahir and Morne Morkel leading the charge of bowling. As for the hosts, they will be sending in their big guns again such Chris Gayle, Dwayne Bravo, Darren Bravo, Kieron Pollard and many more.

Players from Sri Lanka and Bangladesh too are expected to feature in the tournament, given that they are considerably experienced. From Sri Lanka, Tillakaratne Dilshan and Lasith Malinga are some of the players who are in the pot, while from Bangladesh, one of the best all-rounders in the world – Shakib Al Hassan will be leading the pack.

From the land down under, we have more than 20 players, in addition to having 11 from New Zealand in the pool. The Australians have the brilliant mixture of experience in the likes of Brad Haddin and Michael Hussey, alongside with young and upcoming talents.

Europeans too will be keen to get in on the cricket action in the summer as two players each from England, Scotland and Ireland will be participating in the drafts. A similar trend can be observed in the North Americas too, where players from Canada and United states will be keen to be picked by the franchises.

Apart from these names, we can also expect to see few of the batsmen from the top 20 of the ICC World T20 rankings. Some of these players include Martin Guptill, Shane Watson and Brendon McCullum.

With the draft pool filled with such talented players, the fans in the region have certainly got a lot to cheer for and look forward to.

Here’re the six final (CPL) Caribbean Premier League squads & teams at the end of the CPL Draft:

Barbados Tridents:

Kieron Pollard, AB de Villiers, Shoaib Malik, Nicholas Pooran, Ravi Rampaul, David Wiese, Robin Peterson, Raymond Reifer, Ashley Nurse, Wayne Parnell, Akeal Hossain, Imran Khan, Kyle Hope, Navin Stewart, Kyle Corbin, under-19, Steven Taylor.

Guyana Amazon Warriors:

Sohail Tanvir, Martin Guptill, Dwayne Smith, Chris Lynn, Rayad Emrit, Adam Zampa, Jason Mohammad, Christopher Barnwell, Verrasammy Permaul, Orlando Peters, Asaad Fudedin, Anthony Bramble, Paul Wintz, Steven Jacobs, Steven Katwaroo, under-19, Muhammad Ahsaan Ali Khan.

Jamaica Tallawahs:

Chris Gayle, Kumar Sangakkara, Shakib al Hasan, Andre Russell, Imad Wasim, Lasith Malinga, Rovman Powell, Chadwick Walton, Jon-Russ Jaggesar, Andre McCarthy, Jonathon Foo, Alex Ross, Kesrick Williams, Nikrumah Bonner, Garey Mathurin, under-19, Timroy Allen.

St Kitts & Nevis Patriots:

Lendl Simmons, Faf du Plessis, Samuel Badree, Brad Hodge, Thisara Perera, Jonathon Carter, Krishmar Santokie, Evin Lewis, Tabreiz Shamal, Kieran Powell, JJ Smuts, Devon Thomas, Shamarh Brooks, Tino Best, under-19, Nikhil Dutta

Trinidad & Tobago Red Steel/Trinbago Knight Riders:

Dwayne Bravo, Brendon McCullum, Sunil Narine, Hashim Amla, Umar Akmal, Kevon Cooper, Sulieman Benn, Colin Munro, Anton Devcich, Ronsford Beaton, Nikita Miller, Jevon Bearies, William Perkins, Yannic, Cariah, Ramnaresh Sarwan, under-19, Hamza Tariq

St. Lucia Zouks:

David Miller, Shane Watson, Darren Sammy, Michael Hussey, Johnson Charles, Andre Fletcher, Morne Morkel, Fidel Edwards, Derone Davis, Eddie Leie, Keron Cottoy, Shane Shillingford, Delorn Johnson, Kyle Mayers, Keddy Lesporis, under-19, Nitish Kumar

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.