ICC Reveals Road to 2023 World Cup

2023 World Cup Draw - 32 Teams

The 2023 World Cup will continue to have 10 teams in the tournament but all the sides will now need to qualify for the competition through an exhaustive process that will see 32 teams take part in the Qualifiers.

The qualification process for the 2023 World Cup, which will be played in India, will see three different leagues played at different times – the CWC Super League, CWC League 2 and CWC Challenge League.

The Super League will consist of the top 12 full member, or the Test-playing nations and Netherlands as the 13th team. These 13 teams will be involved in 156 matches, i.e. 24 games per team between May 2020 and 2022, and at the end of this, the top eight teams in the competition will directly qualify for the 2013 World Cup.

Read: IPL Predictions Here

Around the same time, the seven teams ranked 14th to 20th will feature in the CWC League 2, in which each team will play each other in three-match series to constitute 126 games in the tournament. Also the teams ranked 21st to 32nd in the world will take part in the CWC Challenge League.

The bottom four teams from the CWC League 2 will be joined by the top two teams from the Challenge League in a playoff that will decide two teams that will feature in the 2022 World Cup Qualifiers. These two will be joined by eight others – bottom five from the Super League and top three from the League 2 – to form a 10-team World Cup Qualifier.

The 10-team World Cup Qualifier to be played in 2022 will see the top two teams qualify for the main draw in the 2023 World Cup.

There has been a huge hue and cry over the presence of just 10 teams in the 2019 World Cup but ICC’s decision to not change things around for even the next edition would have the fans up in arms over the issue. Cricket would be one of the few sports in the world to have gone in the reverse direction when it comes to the number of participating teams in the World Cup, having seen a drop from 16 in 2007 to 14 in 2011 and 2015 and now 10 in 2019 and 2023.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.