Indian Cricketers to Feature in T10 Cricket League

Zaheer Khan will play in the T10 Cricket League
Photo credit Royal Challengers Bangalore on Visualhunt CC BY-NC-SA

In what would come as a huge news for the followers of cricket all around the world, eight former Indian cricketers have been reportedly signed up by the T10 Cricket League this season.

This happens at the time Indian cricketers aren’t allowed to participate in any of the T20 leagues around the world but the fact these eight cricketers are already retired from the sport might have helped them.

The Indian brigade was already been led by Virender Sehwag but joining him will be Zaheer Khan, a World Cup-winning Indian fast bowler, RP Singh and Praveen Kumar. Praveen recently retired from all forms of the game of cricket.

They will be joined by Reetinder Singh Sodhi, a former under-19 World Cup-winning player and S Badrinath, while the identities of three other cricketers who will be playing in the T10 Cricket League has been withheld for now.

The T10 Cricket League is a first of its kind tournament in which teams feature in 10-over games and each bowler is allowed just two overs apiece. The rest of the rules remain the same but the boundaries are slightly shorter too which allows huge scores to be made.

The first season of the T10 Cricket League was played in 2017 over three days and was a raging success. Six teams had participated in that tournament. This year, two extra teams have been added to bring them up to a sum total of eight teams and the number of days have been increased to nine days for the tournament.

The eight teams are divided into two groups of four teams each with each side facing off against every other team in their own group, making it three matches in each group. The second round of matches will have a playoff of some kind but the exact schedule and format will be released at a later date.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.