Adelaide Strikers Squad – Big Bash League 2015-16

The Adelaide Strikers will enter the fifth edition of the Big Bash League with their best season under their belt last year and will hope they can continue in the same vein. The Adelaide Strikers squad for the BBL05 can be found below with regular updates as and when a player is signed up.

Here’re the rest of the Big Bash League squads

By looks of things, the Strikers have had a decent squad in almost every edition of the Big Bash League. Unfortunately for them, through the first three seasons of the competition, they struggled to get going, finishing sixth, fifth and seventh respectively.

It was only last year that the Strikers finally managed to get going, winning six and losing just one of their games in the league stage of the tournament. They were unfortunate to get knocked out in the semi-final, failing in front of a record attendance of over 52k at the Adelaide Oval to chase down 181. They fell for a paltry 94.

What the Adelaide Strikers will now need to do is to ensure their template of success from the previous season isn’t lost just because of that one-off result. And in doing so, they have been trying to retain some of their players from last season.

Latest BBL betting tips here

The T20 experience of Brad Hodge will be of huge help but what they will be hoping is for Kieron Pollard to come really good.

Pollard has been a part of the IPL 2015-winning Mumbai Indians squad, having also won the title with them once earlier too. If he can drill in even two good performances during the league stage, that should be enough to win them a couple of matches.

Craig Simmons continues to remain a Striker while there’s also place for Ben Laughlin and Alex Richardson, both of whom will look to lead the Adelaide bowling attack this season.

One of the bigger overseas signings is that of Adil Rashid, who was dropped from the England squad for their Test tour of South Africa.

More signings from the Adelaide Strikers are awaited.

Here’s the latest Adelaide Strikers squad for BBL05:
Jono Dean
Travis Head
Brad Hodge
Ben Laughlin
Tim Ludeman
Michael Neser
Kieron Pollard (overseas player, injured)
Mahela Jayawardene (overseas player)
Gary Putland
Kane Richardson
Alex Ross
Craig Simmons
Kelvin Smith
Billy Stanlake
Jon Holland
Adil Rashid (overseas player)
Hamish Kingston

Coach: Jason Gillespie

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.