Sydney Sixers Squad – Big Bash League 2015-16

The Sydney Sixers have been one of the winners of the Big Bash League and will hope to make it two titles when they take field this year for the BBL. Here’s the latest Sydney Sixers squad.

All Big Bash League squads here

The thing with the Sixers has usually been their reliance on home-grown players rather than the overseas ones. And this year, looking at their signings so far, it looks like history is going to be repeated.

What could become intriguing for the Sixers is the fact they have a few of them who will make the Australian Test squad during the Big Bash League this season – making it tough for them to feature in this T20 competition.

Josh Hazlewood, Mitchell Starc, Nathan Lyon and Steven Smith are a few sure-shot selections in the Australian Test squad while there could be other youngsters like Nic Maddinson who might be in line to make it to the squad too.

Get the latest BBL betting tips here

What this means is that they will need to look at getting in others who not only have the pedigree in this format of the game but will also not be involved in any international cricket at that time.

Johan Botha has skipped from the Adelaide Strikers to sign up for the Sydney Sixers. Also joining the squad yet again is Michael Lumb, who has played for them in the past seasons too and in all probability won’t be a part of the England squad in the future.

Among some of the others who have been signed up or continued from the previous season are speedsters Sean Abbott, Doug Bollinger and Jackson Bird, while Moises Henriques could well take over the captaincy while Stephen O’Keefe will lend spinning support to them.

If Brad Haddin fails to continue playing in the Test-match format, he could be in line for captaincy too while adding some batting strength to the top of the order.

Here’s the latest Sydney Sixers squad for BBL05:
Michael Lumb (overseas player)
Sean Abbott
Doug Bollinger
Ryan Carters
Ben Dwarshuis
Brad Haddin
Josh Hazlewood
Moises Henriques
Nathan Lyon
Nic Maddinson
Stephen O’Keefe
Jordan Silk
Steve Smith
Mitchell Starc
Jackson Bird
Johan Botha
Ed Cowan
Mickey Edwards
Soumil Chhibber
Li-Kai Ming

Coach: Greg Shipperd

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.